Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


Front Page > breadcrumbs: Extracurricular > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: FFA >


Ajax Loading Image


Jensen Selected As Finalist for Career Student Organization (CSO) Advisor of the Year

Skip image

Story image 1_0

The Nebraska Department of Education proudly announces the recipients of the 2014 Nebraska Career Education (NCE) Awards. In conjunction with the Association for Career and Technical Education in Nebraska (ACTEN), Nebraska Career Education honored key education and business/industry organization leaders and career education teachers at NCE Conference on June 4-5, 2014. The honorees were nominated by those who have had the privilege to work with them and benefit from their commitment to quality career education. 

The NCE award recipients were recognized during the Nebraska Career Education (NCE) Conference General Sessions at the Younes Conference Center-Kearney, Wednesday and Thursday, June 4-5, 2014. The NCE conference is the annual three-day professional development conference attended by over 600 career education instructors, counselors, administrators, and business/industry representatives from throughout the state.

The NCE Awards were presented in the following categories:      

Elaine Stuhr Leadership and Advocacy Lifetime Achievement Award

Dennis Headrick, Vice President of Instruction

Southeast Community College


Distinguished Partner Awards

Al Haiar, Bernina Sewing Center, Omaha, Nebraska

Donlynn Rice, Nebraska Department of Education


Outstanding Nebraska Career Education Program

Career Education Program

Stratton High School, Dundy County


Career Pathways institute

Grand Island Senior High School, Grand Island, Nebraska


Urban Agriculture and Natural Resource Academy

Bryan High School, Omaha Nebraska


Outstanding Business/Industry Partnership Awards

Embassy Suites and Courtyard by Marriott

David Scott, Director of Sales

La Vista, Nebraska


International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 22/National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA)

Allan Hale, Executive Director

Omaha, Nebraska


Career Student Organization (CSO) Advisor of the Year

Kurk Shrader, Elmwood Murdock FBLA



Kristyn Harms, Norris FFA

Tony Jensen, Freeman FFA

Jolene Schlemmer, Lincoln Southeast FCCLA

Kurk Shrader, Elmwood Murdock FBLA


More information about the conference and the award winners can be found by visiting www.nceconference.com. The NCE Conference is sponsored by the Nebraska Department of Education, Nebraska Career Education and in cooperation with the Association for Career and Technical Education of Nebraska.

  • RSS Icon
  • Twitter Icon

Freeman Public Schools415 8th StreetP.O. Box 259Adams, NE  68301

p. 402.988.2525f. 402.988.3475

Sign up for the News Update.

It is the policy of Freeman Public Schools not to discriminate on the basis of gender, disability, race, color, religion, marital status, age or national origin in its education programs, administration, policies, employment or other district programs.

Back To Top